Wild Kindness Records – new Ohio label releases benefit comp

Wild Kindness – a new label out of Youngstown, OH – has just released a benefit compilation for Girls Educational & Mentoring Services. GEMS is a New York-based organization designed to serve females, ages 12-24, who have experienced commercial sexual exploitation and domestic trafficking. The comp features contributions from many Ohio-based artists, a track from The Dirty Projectors’ Nat Baldwin, and more. Here is the press release:

Sunshine Off the Tracks: A Benefit for GEMS

On March 31, 2012 Wild Kindness Records will release Sunshine Off the Tracks: A Benefit for GEMS. Girls Educational & Mentoring Services (GEMS) is a New York-based organization designed to serve females, ages 12-24, who have experienced commercial sexual exploitation and domestic trafficking. GEMS’ mission is to empower girls and young women to exit the commercial sex industry and develop their full potential. Sunshine Off the Tracks features contributions from a wide array of independent musicians and record labels.

The idea for a benefit compilation was first conceived when members of the Wild Kindness team viewed Very Young Girls – a documentary detailing the atrocities of commercial sexual exploitation and domestic trafficking. Deeply moved by the film, and surrounded by a community of talented artists, the WK team decided to cull a songset to benefit the cause. Envisioning it to be solely released by Wild Kindness, this notion quickly changed when artists and labels across the country began to show great response and an eagerness to contribute.

Sunshine Off the Tracks is one small way to spread the message of GEMS and work toward ending the commercial sex industry. Wild Kindness would like to extend its sincere gratitude to GEMS, the many artists and labels who contributed to the cause, and those who show their support through the purchase of this album. Thank you.


1.) Sun for Moon – Disappearing Hearts
2.) Aan – I Don’t Need Love
3.) Nat Baldwin – Lake Erie (Alt. Version)
4.) The Curious Mystery – Night Ride Reeling
S.) Southeast Engine – Adeline of the Appalachian Mountains
6.) Andre Costello – Tumbleweed
7.) White Birds – Floating Hands
8.) Doleful Lions – Julie’s Video
9.) LAKE – Backwards and Forwards
10.) In One Wind – Water’s Looking Fine
11.) Sam Goodwill – Every Other Anthology
12.) Love of Everything – Kangaroo
13.) Arrington De Dionyso’s Malaikat Dan Singa – Perawan Berawan
14.) The Building – Ethel Merman
15.) Angelo Spencer et les Hauts Sommets – Let You Down
16.) JP Haynie – Gravel
17.) Nucular Aminals – Nobody’s Man
18.) Way Yes – Automail
19.) The Black Swans – Joe Tex
20.) Girls in Trouble – Tell Me
21.) Adrian Crowley – Winter Sun (Demo)
22.) Gym, Deer – Much A Goodness (DIGITAL BONUS TRACK)
23.) Travels – Lucky (DIGITAL BONUS TRACK)

*Full disclaimer: Donewaiting writer Leo DeLuca is associated with two acts on this compilation. He manages Misra Records — the record label for The Black Swans and Southeast Engine (in which he plays). He normally keeps it all very separate, but this is a good cause.

FEATURING ARTISTS FROM: K Records | Polyvinyl | Western Vinyl | Primary Records | Lefse Records | Domino | Chemikal Underground | J Dub Records | Wild Kindness Records | Misra Records

Comments are closed.