Dolfish – “I’d Rather Disappear Than Stay the Same”

MP3: I’d Rather Disappear Than Stay the Same

As always, it’s great to see a local name on a national press release (though there’s no mention of Max’s time here in town). The first full-length release from Dolfish is entitled I’d Rather Disappear Than Stay the Same and is scheduled for release October 30th on Afternoon Records. More deets from the press release:

Dolfish is the moniker of 23-year-old Cleveland born songwriter, Max Sollisch. His debut EP, Your Love is Bummin’ Me Out was released on vinyl last December by Minneapolis based Afternoon Records (Pomegranates, John Vanderslice, The Poison Control Center) and met with great praise by taste-makers My Old Kentucky Blog, Daytrotter, and You Ain’t No Picasso, among others. Your Love is Bummin’ Me Out’s lyrical wit and lo-fi production gained comparisons to folk heroes Daniel Johnston, John Darnielle and Neil Young while it’s concise songwriting (5 songs in 8 minutes) yielded comparisons to Ohio-based rockers, Guided By Voices and Times New Viking.

For the first proper Dolfish LP, Sollisch enlisted like-minded label-mate Patrick Tape Fleming (The Poison Control Center) to produce the album in the living room of a friend’s apartment in downtown Des Moines, Iowa. Recorded and mixed to 1/2″ tape in just 5 days, I’d Rather Disappear Than Stay the Same features a backing band of all Iowa musicians whom Max had only met upon arriving in Des Moines to record. Tracked live with little overdubbing, these 12 songs were rarely rehearsed more than a hand full of times by the all-Iowa, all-star backing band giving the record a spontaneity and rawness rarely achieved on a studio album.

Track Listing:

01. Grown Ups
02. The One Who Burns the Coffee
03. I’d Rather Disappear Than Stay the Same
04. Lucky Caller
05. Don’t Kick Me While I’m Down
06. Roanoke
07. All That Keeps Us On the Ground
08. There Must Be Something Wrong With These Shoes
09. Prospective Is A Funny Thing
10. Proud of You Joanna
11. God is the Loneliest of Lovers
12. Oil In This Heart

Comments are closed.