Tag Archives: Diplo

Video- Bonde Do Role – “Kilo”

Photo courtesy of Shane McCauley

Back when Diplo & Bonde De Role dropped slimline cdr’s like in 04 it was like listening to 2 Live Crew except it’s a Brazilian lady yelling filthy things in Portuguese vs. a group of men cursing at you. I rock with Barack on the gay marriage thing but if someone is gonna be 2 Nasty then there is an appeal in it being a foreign woman. Anyway, they are about to drop a follow-up to 2007’s With Lazers in 2012 called Tropicalbacanal on Mad Decent. Tropicalbacanal is produced by Diplo, (duh) and Filip Nikolic of Poolside and featuring guest turns from Caetano Veloso, Das Racist, Cecile, Rizzle Kicks, and the Death Set. Album out June 26th.

peep the video for the single Kilo which drops may 22nd after the jump.

Continue reading

Listen: Wale “Slight Work” Feat Big Sean (Produced By Diplo)

After a lively discussion on Twitter,Wale and Diplo decided to leak their song “Slight Work” feat Big Sean. This song is off Wale’s album upcoming album Ambition which comes out 11-1-11. Preorders available now.

Cornelius Jackson and The Black Keys on New Diplo Moombahton 2k11 Mix

I’m a Columbus-based blogger and the Black Keys and CJ Townsend aka Cornelius Jackson get lots of mentions by me. Sometimes together . So I am delighted that Diplo put both the Black Keys and Cornelius Jackson’s Moombahton group Cassius Slay on his latest mix.
And if you know what’s really good in Columbus, some other things may come to mind on this.

tracklisting and info after jump Continue reading

Major Lazer at Boma Tonight aka Sooon aka LGBNAF

video of diplo last time in columins

YouTube Preview Image

Dear Diplo & Switch,

Thanks you for making me okay with tanning. I’m dubbing tonight an honorary Satanic Spring Break,

Also thanks to your mixtape triphoppers know who Gucci Mane is.

Wes “Waka Flocka Seagulls” Flexner Continue reading

MP3: Major Lazer: Bruk Out (Destructo/Uberzone Remix)


Here is a Major Lazer remix by Rick Rubin/Knottsberry Farm affiliate Gary Richards aka Destructo. Download and pre-party for the Columbus Major Lazer Show at Boma April 6th.

Diplo Presents :Free Gucci(The Best of the Cold War Mixtapes)

Gucci Mane &DiploWell damn….
Download it at the Mad Decent Website here.

Diplo to Remix Gucci Mane Mixtapes

Burr. Burr.
First the Dips and Wu get down with the Black Keys on Blakroc
Then them Weedsteeler boys were doing their thizzle at the Wakka Flokka show now…
Smiles for miles when I opened this press release from Gucci Mane’s label.
Diplo x Gucci Mane plus Mad Decent “Free Gucci Mane” Shirts


Burbank, CA – Legendary Philadelphia DJ Diplo has announced that he will remix Gucci Mane’s acclaimed Cold War mixtape series. The Grammy nominated producer and songwriter (M.I.A’s “Paper Planes,” 2008) signed on for the project to support the Decemburrrr 8th release of Gucci Mane’s The State Vs. Radric Davis in light of the rapper’s recent legal woes.  The remix album will incorporate Diplo’s unique fusion of electronic, hip-hop, reggae and Brazilian carioca inspirations. 
“Gucci Mane is an underdog, and a divisive artist,” says Diplo. “I thought it would be cool to have a bunch of kids and weirdos do some mixes of his songs. We all are fans and we are from different scenes. Gucci is a rapper that doesn’t try and be anything he is not; he’s straight up. Maybe it’s ironic and all, but I’m just a fan and have been since day one. Gucci Mane is the cool uncle I never had even though I’m pretty sure I am older than him.”

Continue reading

Causes 2 Darfur Benefit Album Features Diplo, RJD2, Decemberists


Waxploitation has released another awesome benefit album for Darfur featuring a lot of donewaiting.com favorites. 100% of the profits from the release go to Médecins Sans Frontières (Doctors Without Borders), Human Rights Watch and Oxfam America. Order the album here.


1: Black Moth Super Rainbow – Happy Melted City
2: The Decemberists – After the Bombs (Live Version)
3: Devendra Banhart – White Reggae Troll
4: Diplo – Wassup Wassup (Exclusive Samim Remix)
5: Federico Aubele – Luna Y Sol
6: Gnarls Barkley – Mystery Man
7: LCD Soundsystem – Starry Eyes Original (Causes Exclusive)
8: My Morning Jacket – Highly Suspicious (exclusive VHS or Beta Dee Jays Remix)
9: Matthew Dear – When She Don’t Need Me (Causes Exclusive)
10: Mum – Asleep in a Hiding Place
11: Neon Neon – I Lust U Feat. Cate Le Bon (DJ Eli Escobar Remix)
12: Richard Swift – Wastin’ M’Time
13: RJD2 – Wherever
14: Sharon Jones & Dap-Kings – It Hurts to be Alone
15: Tim & Eric – Petite Feet (Exclusive Devlin & Ghostdad Remix Feat. Sylvia Gordon)

Diplo in Columbus Review

800 people paid 12-20 dollars to see Diplo in Columbus,Ohio.
For good reason. He invented anything that matters currently in the world of dancing. I mean…do I need to point out how before Diplo it was either James Brown or staying home because nerds wanted to play drum n bass?
I mean he made all of us ex-backpackers or hardcore kids into club goers kinda.
Anyway, after the jump I will recap the show.

Pictures by Danielle Kline may vary due the fact that she took 423 of them. But they are all better then the ones I took on my cellphone camera
Continue reading

MP3: Major Lazer “Hold The Line” feat. Mr. Lex & Santigold


MP3: Hold the Line by Major Lazer

Somehow I’ve seen Major Lazer live but Wes Flexner hasn’t. Then again, he hung out with Diplo all night Friday and I was alone in a hotel room in Indainapolis with some Pop Tarts.

Major Lazer is Diplo and Switch. I caught them at SXSW and they were a ton of fun to watch live. Here’s some info on their debut album::

Guns Don’t Kill People… Lazers Do comes out on Downtown Records on June 16th, 2009.


1. Hold The Line feat. Mr. Lex & Santigold
2. When You Hear The Bassline feat. Ms. Thing
3. Can’t Stop Now feat. Mr. Vegas & Jovi Rockwell
4. Lazer Theme feat. Future Trouble
5. Anything Goes feat. Turbulence
6. Cash Flow feat. Jah Dan
7. Mary Jane feat. Mr. Evil & Mapei
8. Bruk Out feat. T.O.K. & Ms. Thing
9. What U Like feat. Amanda Blank & Einstein
10. Keep It Goin’ Louder feat. Nina Sky & Ricky Blaze
11. Pon De Floor feat. VYBZ Kartel (Additional Prpduction By Afro Jack)
12. Baby feat. Prince Zimboo
13. Jump Up feat. Leftside & Supahype (Co-Produced By Crookers)