Tag Archives: Pete Rock

Video: Pete Rock & Smif N Wessun “Top of the World” feat. Memphis Bleek

YouTube Preview Image
Directed by Donald Robinson Cole & Olise Forel for SMP & Moving Silence

Music from Pete Rock & Smif N Wessun’s Monumental album out now.

Purchase via Amazon Digital:here
Purchase via iTunes:Here

Video: Nas Brings Out Lauryn Hill, Pete Rock, MC Serch, Large Professor & More at Rock the Bells 2011 NYC

YouTube Preview Image

From scouring the internets from my Ohio apartment, I have been able to determine that Nas not only performed Illmatic at this weekend’s Rock the Bells Festival in NYC but he also brought out alot of legends to do early classics with.
Above is a video of Nas rocking Back to the Grill with 3rd Bass’s MC Serch.
After the jump, watch Nas performing If I Ruled the World with Lauryn Hill, The World is Yours with Pete Rock, and Live at the BBQ with Large Professor, Akinyele and Joe Fatal.

Continue reading

Pete Rock & Smif N Wessun Announce “Monumental” Release Date

YouTube Preview Image

The above video breaks it down into simple math. Hip Hop legends Pete Rock and Smif N Wessun doing an album together is aptly titled Monumental.

Monumental will be released on June 28th on Duck Down Music. The album features Raekwon, Bun B, Pharoahe Monch, Styles P, Memphis Bleek, Hurricane G, Sean Price & Buckshot.

I am currently in the market for Vegan Timberlands and a mint-scented razor to keep under my tongue.

Album Teaser directed by Daydream Film Works for Sundree brand Management.

MP3:Pete Rock, Smif N Wessun & Raekwon-Prevail

MP3:Pete Rock, Smif N Wesson & Raekwon-Prevail
Fresh off of the Bieber/Kanye jammer, Wu-Tang Clan’s Raekwon joins Pete Rock and Smif N Wesson for “Prevail”. I guess Pete Rock and Smif N Wessun are doing an album together aptly titled, Monumental

New Zerostar Mixtape

Zero Star, who recently wrote a blog on Art of Rhyme about animals he thinks he could beat up, following up his genius tribute blogging about big girls earlobes, just dropped an illy mixtape. If you don’t know about Zero? Well he raps in technical patterns about how dope he is at rapping or sex. He also likes to tell humorous antidotes and reflect on issues facing black folks. Zero tends to rap over beats that are either raw as fuck or soulful. And for you Downwaiting friendlies the mixtape’s price is free99.

Take’em or Erase’em: the mp3 mixtape
Download: here or here


1. Intro: Take’em or Erase’em (Prod. Ree-Dic)
2. Sheeeesh (Prod. Blueprint)
3. The Real Thing (Prod. Ill Poetic)
4. Random Tales (Prod. K81)
5. You Wish (Prod. Przm)
6. Deeper ’07 (Tribute to Bo$$)
7. Lookin 4 Me Remix (Feat. V-Hyphen [Prod. Przm)
8. Criminology 101 Freestyle
9. Forever’s Never (Prod. Ree-Dic)
10. Reality (Prod. Ree-Dic)
11. Wordperfect Remix pt. 2 (Prod. Przm..RIP)
12. We Gone Roll (Prod. Pete Rock)
13. Fast Shit (Prod. Blueprint)
14. BlueStar (Prod. Blueprint)
15. Lo Fi Funk Freestyle (Prod. Blueprint)
16. Another Time (Feat. Blueprint [Prod. Ree-Dic)
17. Follow Me (Prod. Grmm)
18. Shotgun Freestyle (Prod. J Dilla)
19. Flashing Lights Freefall (Prod. Kanye West)
20. Yaaaa… RIP Przm (Prod. Przm)
21. The Hole (Prod. K81)
22. Outro: Jazzyball Rideout (Prod. Ree-Dic)

Zerostar will rap at the Weightless N.Y.E. Show. More info here on the bored.