Tag Archives: Southeast Engine

Misra Records relaunches, releases free, artist-curated “Legacy Compilation”

Download: Misra Legacy Compilation Volume I (zip)

This new Misra re-launch and compilation is a fitting bookend to some recent Columbus news. So, Lydia Loveless is now on Bloodshot. Bloodshot is now the distributor for Misra Records. Misra Records’ first signing is the Black Swans, whose new record Don’t Blame the Stars will be out in the spring. And the newly relaunched label is now artist-run, managed by Leo Deluca, drummer for Athens folk-rockers Southeast Engine.


Here’s the full press release and track listing for that free, artist-curated compilation, which includes previously unreleased tunes from Southeast Engine (“New Growth”) and the Black Swans (“I Forgot to Change the Windshield Wipers in My Mind”) from both bands’ upcoming releases: Continue reading

Tonight at the Treehouse: Southeast Engine

Adam Remnant and company never disappoint. New album, Canary, out late Feb/early March on Misra Records (now run by SEE’s drummer, Leo DeLuca). Before that, be on the lookout for a Misra comp titled Misra Records Presents: An Artist-Curated Misra Legacy Compilation.

More acts added to Nelsonville Music Festival: Swell Season, Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings, Billy Joe Shaver

We told you back in December that Loretta Lynn will be headlining the 6th annual Nelsonville Music Festival in Nelsonville, Ohio, May 14-16. Now the fest has added some more noteworthy acts, including The Swell Season, Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings (pictured above), Billy Joe Shaver and Man Man, adding to the already impressive lineup with Lynn, Todd Snider, Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears, Southeast Engine, Michael Hurley, Detroit Cobras and Those Darlins.

Some Columbus acts added to the bill, too: Lydia Loveless, The Spikedrivers and The Alwood Sisters.

Weekend passes are $40 through Feb. 28, after which they’ll go up to $45. Single-day passes go on sale in April. You can order tickets here. Full lineup after the jump, with more acts to be announced later. Continue reading

Audio Eagle Presents: A Compilation of Bands from Ohio

MP3: Secret Histories by Brainbow
MP3: It’s a Bubble Bath of Sharks!!! by Beaten Awake

Akron label Audio Eagle (launched by Pat Carney of The Black Keys) has released a new compilation of songs from bands all across Ohio. Featuring such donewaiting.com favorites as Doug Gillard, Deathly Fighter, Six Parts Seven, Brainbow, and Gil Mantera’s Party Dream, it really is a nice artifact showcasing what’s going on here.

You can pick up the record in various independent record stores throughout Ohio or directly from the label.

1. Doug Gillard – For What I’ve Done (North Carolina/Cleveland)
2. Goodbye Ohio – Gabrial (Akron)
3. Coffinberry – Earthworms In the Sun (Cleveland)
4. Machine Go Boom – Gentleman’s Reply (Cleveland)
5. The Strange Division – New Way of Thinking (Akron)
6. JJ Magazine – Dinner (Cleveland)
7. Beaten Awake – It’s a Bubble Bath of Sharks!!! (Kent)
8. Clouds Forming Crowns – Let It Take Hold (Cleveland)
9. Buffalo Killers – The Path Before Me (Cincinnati)
10. The Black Keys – Nobody But You(Akron)
11. Hell’s Information – Song Six (Akron)
12. Deathly Fighter – New Variations on Themes (Columbus)
13. Six Parts Seven – Stolen Moments (Kent)
14. Brainbow – Secret Histories (Columbus)
15. Southest Engine – We Have You Surrounded (Athens)
16. The Same Things – Red Carpet (Akron)
17. Goodmorning Valentine – City Lights (Akron)
18. Heartless Bastards – All This Time (Cincinnati)
19. Houseguest – King of Crystal Skies (Akron)
20. Celebrity Pilots – Let the Shade Shine In (Cleveland)
21. Gil Mantera’s Party Dream – Chalklit Pyhe II (Youngstown)

(tracklisting links lovingly jacked right from the code of I Rock Cleveland, where they’re running a contest to win copies of the album)