Tag Archives: Mick Boogie

Listen: Mick Boogie’s Mass Appeal 2012 SXSW Mixtape

Mass Appeal: SXSW 2012 Mixtape Track list After Jump

Continue reading

Interview With Mick Boogie about NBA Jam related Nostalgia, his 93 Til Infinity Tape and Homage

Mick Boogie, Homage, Dime , Major and MTVN.com have teamed up to celebrate the refreshed and remixed version of the greatest basketball video game of all time, NBA Jam.

The Homage Tee is above.

Download Mick Boogie’s 93 til Infinity tape here.
Seriously, a new instant classic paying homage to one of the greatest eras of Hip Hop.
It has Das Efx, Souls Of Mischief, Gangstarr, Naughty By Nature, Dre, Grand Puba, Original Flavor, and Early Fugees…remixes…
Boogie’s 93 til Infinity is like being a latch-key kid sitting in your friend’s mom’s house after school. Maybe you just went bombing. Maybe you just watched YO! MTV Raps.
Your friend just copped all the 12 inches with the exclusive B-sides that y’all heard on a bootleg Stretch and Bobbie mix and he is dubbing them to tape.
And you are playing NBA Jams.

Except now you are grown and have your own apartment and don’t wear X hats that tie on the top.
Homage tee here

The good people at Homage got me in touch with Mick Boogie to walk down memory lane.

Did you play NBA Jam at the arcade?

Once or twice… there wasn’t really an arcade near my house. But it was always THE popular game when I did go.

Did you have NBA Jam at home? Or did one of your friends? What game system?

Yeah… for Sega Genesis.

Did you play with Mark Price and Brad Daugherty? If not, who was your squad?

I’m pretty sure I played as Celtics. Always been my favorite team since I was a little kid.

Did you unlock any secret players? Which ones? Do you remember any codes?

I am way too old to remember any of that. Lol.

Starter jacket or Carhart?

Starter all the way!
Continue reading

Mick Boogie X Peter Bjorn & John-Re-Living Things

ex-Cleveland Cav dejay Mick Boogie curates a PBJ remix jawn that has Columbus rapper, Fly Union’s Jerraeu on the same project as GZA, Kweli, Bun B, Wale, 88 Keys, Black Milk, Young Chris and many others.

MP3:Mick Boogie + Peter Bjorn & John-Re-Living Things

1. Naledge & Mickey Factz: Blue Period Picasso (remixed by nVMe)
2. Freebass 808 & Christian Rich: Living Thing
(remixed by Apple Juice Kid)
3. Bun B & The Kid Daytona: Losing My Mind (remixed by 6th Sense)
4. Big Pooh, Chaundon & Phil Nash: Stay This Way (remixed by Jazzy Jeff)
5. Trouble Andrew & GLC: Lay It Down (remixed by The Kickdrums)
6. Talib Kweli & 6th Sense: I Want You
(remixed by William Russell / Good Life Mike)
7. 88 Keys & Outasight: 4 Out Of 5 (remixed by 6th Sense)
8. U-N-I: Last Night (remixed by Remot)
9. GZA, Buckshot & Tabi Bonney: The Feeling (remixed by Marco Polo)
10. Big Sean, Black Milk & T3: Just The Past (remixed by nVMe)
11. Kardinal Offishall, Donnis & Henok Achido: It Just Don’t Move Me
(remixed by Jet Audio)
12. Wale, Young Chris & Rhymefest: Nothing To Worry About
(remixed by The Kickdrums)
13. Evidence, Jerreau & Fashawn: Amsterdam (remixed by Cookin’ Soul)

Please check Mick Boogie.com to see how one truely got it in Ohio

Homage Clothing Gets a Shout-Out During Cavs Play-off Game

YouTube Preview Image

TNT’s Ernie Johnson bigged up Columbus T-Shirt maker Homage Clothing before game three of the Cavs-Magic play-off series.

Morrissey and Mick Boogie been rocking Homage as well

Homage Clothing is available locally at the Milk Bar and prolly some other places..

Diplo + Ohio? Diplo + Fly Union? Fly Union + Mick Boogie?

Diplo is freakin coming to Cleveland,Ohio, February 7th. Diplo, who has no worries of me trying to hump his extremely talented but mediocre looking boo/ex-boo? M.I.A.(who will be MIA as in not at this show) is playing at the B-Side Liquor Lounge in Conventry. DJ Blaqstarr is opening…. But but wait its gets better. Columbus’ Fly Union is also opening. After catching them last month at the Embassy Video Premiere…. I can see them fitting a Cool Kids steez, sorta. I mean they do have a song on the the New Mick Boogie/Benzi/Urb Magazine Mixtape.

Video:Fly Union-Big Trucks
YouTube Preview Image

New J-Dilla/Busta Rhymes/Mick Boogie Mixtape

MP3 Zip:Dilla-gence:J-Dilla/Busta Rhyme/Mick Boogie

For more info on Mick Boogie check his website.

1) Words From Ma Dukes
2) Dillagence (produced by DJ Spinna)
3) Takin What’s Mine
4) Step Up
5) The Conversation (f/ Talib Kweli)
6) Code of the Streets (f/ MOP)
7) Lightworks (f/ Q-Tip and Talib Kweli)
8) Baggage Handlers (f/ Raekwon)
9) How We Roll
10) Best That Ever Did It (f/ Rah Digga)
11) Psycho (f/ Cassidy and Papoose)
12) The Range (f/ Rah Digga)
13) Not Right Now
14) Other Side Of The Road
15) Who Tryin To Kill You
16) High
17) Dillagence Outro


Play Havoc on Lebron James/Mick Boogie Mixtape

If you have been involved with Columbus Hip Hop for more than 2 years, you prolly know DJ Sleepyhead. I remember seeing him and Drastic spin records at Millenium over by the Lennox like 6 Years ago. It was funny cause Millenium would turn into a gay afterhours at like 2:30. So if you got too engrossed in conversation, and didn’t pay attention to the time, the setting would change from Hip Hop heads to gay men in a matter of minutes. Cause rap fans tend to not be feeling gay culture not so much they would dip with a quickness. That wasn’t Sleepyhead’s main gig. But I always remember that night.

Anyway, Sleepyhead is in a Cleveland rap group called Play Havoc. They have a song called “Witness” on the new Mick Boogie/Lebron Mix cd that is promoting the release of the New Lebron 5 Shoe.

MP3: Mick Boogie/LeBron/NikeMixtape


Mick Boogie: The LB5 Intro
Sixth Sense: December 30th
Saigon and Jay-Z: C’mon Baby
Jay-Z and Nas: Success
Cassidy and Kanye West: Drink and My 2 Step
Ghostface: Celebrate
Lil Wayne and Juelz Santana: Duffle Bag Boy Remix
Young Jeezy: National Anthem
Shawty Lo and Young Jeezy: They Know
Al Fatz and Paul Wall: Main Attraction
Kanye West and Jay-Z: Everything I Am (Terry Urban Remix)
Nas and Jay-Z: Survivin’ The Times (Mick Boogie Remix)
Jay-Z: Roc Boys
Kanye West: The Good Life
Kanye West and 50 Cent: Flashing Lights (Mick Boogie Remix)
50 Cent and Akon: Still Will
Freeway and Lil Wayne: Step Back
Octane and Illite: Dunk Low Pro
Wale: Nike Boots
Play Havoc: Witness

ODOT on new Mick Boogie/Marco Polo Mixtape

Columbus rappers Copywrite, The Catalyst, and Tage of ODOT are featured on the new mixtape by Cleveland DJ Mick Boogie.

The mixtape consists of new and old songs produced by Toronto/Brooklyn beatmaker Marco Polo compiled to promote his new album ‘Port Authority’ which drops on Rawkus May 15th.

The mixtape is up for free download HERE


01 Newport Authority Intro
02 Skoob (of Das Efx) – How I Get Down REMIX (Cuts by Jayceeoh)
03 Special Teamz – 1 Call (Cuts By Jayceeoh)
04 Masta Ace Interlude
05 Masta Ace feat. Big Noyd – Do It Man
06 Large Professor – The Radar (Cuts By DJ Revolution) *PORT AUTHORITY EXCLUSIVE
07 Grand Daddy I.U. – Veteran (Cuts by DJ Linx)
08 Torae – Good God Interlude
09 Kool G. Rap and D.V. Alias Khryst – Hood Tales *PORT AUTHORITY EXCLUSIVE
10 Boot Camp Clik – He Gave His Life
11 Boot Camp Clik – Hate All You Want
12 Brooklyn Academy – The Growler
13 O.C. Interlude
14 Skyzoo – Block Sh*t (Cuts By DJ Linx)
15 Kardinal Offishall – War *PORT AUTHORITY EXCLUSIVE
16 O Dot Allstars feat. Catalyst, Copywrite, Tage and Kingdom – U Must
17 Torae – Casualty
18 Supernatural Interlude
19 Rasco – What Happened To The Game
20 Not A f*cking Game Interlude
21 Block McCloud feat. Jean Grae – All A Game (Cuts By DJ Linx)
22 Brand Nubian Interlude
23 Sadat X feat. Boss Money – If You
24 Pumpkinhead feat. Roc Marciano (of The UN) – Swordfish REMIX
25 Boot Camp Clik – Yeah
26 Pumpkinhead feat. Arch Rival – Exclusive